SWC Reading Series

Our virtual SWC Reading Series continues in October. Registration is free, and we’ll raffle books at all readings.



Katie Kitamura (A Separation, fiction) and Hari Kunzru (Red Pill, fiction)

Oct. 15, 2020, 8PM EST Register

Katie Kitamura

Katie Kitamura’s most recent novel, A Separation, was a finalist for the Premio von Rezzori and a New York Times Notable Book. It was translated into 16 languages and is being adapted for film. Katie teaches in the Creative Writing Program at New York University. Her new novel, Intimacies, is forthcoming from Riverhead in 2021. Independent bookstore link: bookshop.org.

Hari Kunzru

Hari Kunzru is the author of six novels, most recently White Tears. His new book is Red Pill. His writing has appeared in publications including The New York Times, New York Review of Books, New Yorker, Guardian, Granta, October and Frieze. He teaches in the Creative Writing program at New York University and is the host of the new podcast Into the Zone, from Pushkin media. Independent bookstore link: bookshop.org.


Fourth Thursday SWC Reading Series: Eduardo C. Corral (Guillotine, poetry), Laura Donnelly (Midwest Gothic, poetry), Charlotte Pence (Code, poetry), and Cherene Sherrard (Grimoire, poetry)

Oct. 22, 2020, 8PM EST Register

Eduardo C. Corral

Eduardo C. Corral is the son of Mexican immigrants. Graywolf Press published his second book, Guillotine, in 2020. His first book, Slow Lightning, won the Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. His poems have appeared in AmbitNew England ReviewThe New RepublicPloughshares, and Poetry. He's the recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Hodder Fellowship, and the National Holmes Poetry Prize, both from Princeton University. He teaches in the MFA program in Creative Writing at North Carolina State University. Independent bookstore link: bookshop.org.

Laura Donnelly

Laura Donnelly is the author of the poetry collections Midwest Gothic (Snyder Memorial Prize, Ashland Poetry Press) and Watershed (Cider Press Review Editors’ Prize). Originally from Michigan, she is an Associate Professor of English and Creative Writing at the State University of New York at Oswego. Independent bookstore link: Small Press Distribution.

Charlotte Pence

Charlotte Pence’s first book of poems, Many Small Fires (2015), received an INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award from Foreword Reviews. In July of 2020, her new collection, Code, was cited by The Millions as one of four “July Must-Read” poetry titles. She directs the Stokes Center for Creative Writing at University of South Alabama. Independent bookstore link: The Haunted Book Shop

Cherene Sherrard

Cherene Sherrard is a poet, scholar, and essayist. She is the author of two full-length poetry collections, Vixen (2017) and Grimoire (2020), both from Autumn House Press, and Mistress, Reclining—an award-winning chapbook. She teaches at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was a Walter E. Dakin Poetry Fellow at Sewanee in 2018. Independent bookstore link: A Room of One’s Own


SWC Reading Series with University of Cincinnati, Poetry Reading: Lisa Ampleman (Romances), Jennifer Habel (The Book of Jane), Aditi Machado (Emporium), and Felicia Zamora (Body of Render)

Oct. 29, 2020, 8PM EST Register

Lisa Ampleman

Lisa Ampleman is the author of two books of poetry, most recently Romances (LSU Press, 2020), and a chapbook. Recipient of a Hermitage Artist Retreat fellowship, she lives in Cincinnati, where she is the managing editor of The Cincinnati Review and poetry series editor at Acre Books. Independent bookstore link: Downbound Books.

Jennifer Habel

Jennifer Habel is the author of two books of poetry: The Book of Jane, which won the 2019 Iowa Poetry Prize, and Good Reason, which won the Stevens Poetry Manuscript Competition. She is the coordinator of creative writing at the University of Cincinnati. Independent bookstore link: Downbound Books.

Aditi Machado

Aditi Machado is the author of two books of poetry, Emporium and Some Beheadings, and the translator of Farid Tali’s Prosopopoeia. Her essay “The End” will appear as part of Ugly Duckling Presse’s pamphlet series in Fall 2020. She lives and works in Cincinnati. Independent bookstore link: Downbound Books

Felicia Zamora

Felicia Zamora is the author of five books of poetry including Body of Render, Benjamin Saltman Award winner (2020), and Of Form & Gather, Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize winner (2017). She’s received fellowships from CantoMundo and Ragdale Foundation and is the associate poetry editor for the Colorado Review. Independent bookstore link: Downbound Books


More Upcoming SWC Reading Series Events

Claire Messud (Kant's Little Prussian Head and Other Reasons Why I Write, essays)
Nov. 12, 2020, 8PM EST Register

Thursday SWC Reading Series: Darcy Parker Bruce (playwriting), Simon Han (Nights When Nothing Happened, fiction), Janice Northerns (Some Electric Hum, poetry), and M. O. Walsh (The Big Door Prize, fiction)
Nov. 19, 2020, 8PM EST Register

Thursday SWC Reading Series: Chaya Bhuvaneswar (White Dancing Elephants, fiction), Venita Blackburn (Black Jesus and Other Superheroes, fiction), Leila Chatti (Deluge, poetry), and David James Poissant (Lake Life, fiction)
Dec. 17, 2020, 8PM EST Register