Sewanee Writers' Conference

The Conference

The 2014 Conference

July 22 - August 3, 2014

The University of the South will host the 25th session of the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. Thanks to the generosity of the Walter E. Dakin Memorial Fund, supported by the estate of the late Tennessee Williams, the Conference will gather a distinguished faculty to provide instruction and criticism through workshops and craft lectures in poetry, fiction, and playwriting.

This year’s faculty includes fiction writers John Casey, Tony Earley, Adrianne Harun, Randall Kenan, Margot Livesey, Jill McCorkle, Alice McDermott, Christine Schutt, Allen Wier, and Steve Yarbrough; and poets Claudia Emerson, B.H. Fairchild, Debora Greger, William Logan, Maurice Manning, Charles Martin, Mary Jo Salter, and A.E. Stallings. Daisy Foote and Dan O’Brien will lead the playwriting workshop. Diane Johnson and founding director Wyatt Prunty will read from their work.

In addition, a group of distinguished writers, critics, agents, and visitors will take part. Those who will discuss writing from the point of view of editing or publishing include Paul Bone (Measure); Georges, Anne, and Valerie Borchardt (Georges Borchardt Literary Agency); MaryKatherine Callaway (Louisiana State University Press); Barbara Epler (New Directions); Gary Fisketjon (Alfred A. Knopf); Mary Flinn (Blackbird); Rob Griffith (Measure); Gail Hochman (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agency); Roger Hodge (The Oxford American); John Irwin (The Hopkins Review); Mike Levine (Northwestern University Press); Speer Morgan (The Missouri Review); Kathy Pories (Algonquin Books); Elisabeth Schmitz (Grove/Atlantic); Don Share (Poetry); Philip Terzian (The Weekly Standard); Liz Van Hoose; Michael Wiegers (Copper Canyon Press); and Robert Wilson (The American Scholar).

Gary Garrison, executive director of creative affairs with the Dramatists Guild of America, and Emily Morse, director of artistic development with New Dramatists, will visit to meet with playwrights. Other prominent visitors will include literary agents Michelle Brower (Folio Literary Management), Emily Forland (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agency), Anna Stein (Aitken Alexander Associates), Amy Williams (McCormick & Williams), and Renée Zuckerbrot (Renée Zuckerbrot Literary Agency).

The Conference will offer its customary Walter E. Dakin Fellowships and Tennessee Williams Scholarships, as well as awards in memory of Stanley Elkin, Horton Foote, Barry Hannah, John Hollander, Donald Justice, Romulus Linney, Howard Nemerov, Father William Ralston, Peter Taylor, Mona Van Duyn, and John N. Wall. Additional scholarships have been made possible by Georges and Anne Borchardt and Gail Hochman. Every participant – whether contributor, scholar, or fellow – receives assistance. The Conference fee reflects but two-thirds of the actual cost to attend. Additional funding is awarded to fellows and scholars.

If you have further questions about the Conference, please contact Adam Latham at or 931-598-1654.