Application Deadline: April 17

The deadline to apply to this summer's Sewanee Writers’ Conference is April 17. The 2017 Conference dates are July 18-30, and there is no cost to apply.​

Faculty will give readings and provide instruction and criticism through workshops and craft lectures, as well as meet individually with participants to discuss their manuscripts. The Conference will offer five fiction workshops, four poetry workshops, and a playwriting workshop supported by two professional actors. We will also offer a supplemental poetry translation workshop. We have an admirable lineup of visiting editors, publishers, and agents who will take part in panels. In addition, a substantial number of literary agents will attend.

This year’s faculty includes fiction writers Jeffery Renard Allen, Richard Bausch, Tony Earley, Randall Kenan, Margot Livesey, Jill McCorkle, Alice McDermott, Tim O’Brien, Christine Schutt, and Steve Yarbrough; and poets B.H. Fairchild, Mark Jarman, Maurice Manning, Charles Martin, Marilyn Nelson, Mary Jo Salter, A.E. Stallings, and Sidney Wade. Naomi Iizuka and Dan O’Brien will lead the playwriting workshop. Charles Martin, A.E. Stallings, and N.S. Thompson will offer a supplemental poetry translation workshop, and Allan Gurganus, Ken Weitzman, and Wyatt Prunty will read from their work.

Thanks to the generosity of the Walter E. Dakin Memorial Fund, supported by the estate of Tennessee Williams, contributors receive assistance covering two-thirds of the actual cost to attend. Additional funding is awarded to fellows and scholars.