Now Accepting Applications

We are now accepting applications to the 2019 Sewanee Writers’ Conference via Submittable at The application deadline is March 20.

From July 16–28, 2019, the University of the South will host the 30th session of the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. This year’s faculty includes fiction writers Tony Earley, Adrianne Harun, Randall Kenan, Michael Knight, Bobbie Ann Mason, Jill McCorkle, Tim O’Brien, Christine Schutt, and Steve Yarbrough; and poets B.H. Fairchild, Robert Hass, Mark Jarman, Maurice Manning, Marilyn Nelson, Mary Jo Salter, A.E. Stallings, and Sidney Wade. Naomi Iizuka and Dan O’Brien will lead the playwriting workshop. Charles Martin, A.E. Stallings, and N.S. Thompson will offer a supplemental poetry translation workshop. Charles Martin, Alice McDermott, and Wyatt Prunty will read from their work. In addition, a group of distinguished editors, agents, and visitors will take part.

Thanks to the generosity of the Walter E. Dakin Memorial Fund, supported by the estate of Tennessee Williams, every participant receives assistance covering two-thirds of the actual cost to attend. Additional funding is awarded to fellows and scholars.